УUfa – host city of the BRICS and SCO summits

Ufa – host city of the BRICS and SCO summits

УUfa – host city of the BRICS and SCO summits

Ufa (Bashkir: Өфө) is the capital city of the Republic of Bashkortostan and one of the largest cities in the Russian Federation. It is an important administrative, economic, science, cultural, and transport centre.

The city is situated on the banks of the Belaya River where it meets the Ufa and Dyoma rivers, 100 kilometres to the west from the mountains of the South Urals. Most of the city lies between the Ufa and the Belaya rivers, on the Ufa Peninsula. It stretches 53 kilometres from north to south and 28 kilometres from east to west, making Ufa the third longest city in Russia after Sochi and Volgograd. It is also among the top ten cities in Russia in terms of total area.

The Republic of Bashkortostan is part of the Volga Federal District and the Ural Economic Region. Bashkortostan is located on the western slopes of the Southern Urals and adjacent areas. The tallest peak in the republic is Mount Yamantau (1,640 metres). Bashkortostan is 550 kilometres from north to south and 430 kilometres from east to west. It is the most populous republic in Russia.

Bashkortostan has deposits of oil, natural gas, coal, iron ore, copper, zinc, gold, rock salt and the raw material for high-quality cement.

There are three nature reserves in the republic (Bashkirsky, Southern Ural, and Shulgan-Tash), twelve reserves for medicinal plants, 15 game parks, Bashkiria National Park, two nature parks and over 150 nature landmarks. The total area of specially protected areas in the Republic of Bashkortostan is 1,226,000 hectares (8.5% of the republic's total area).

The longest rivers are the Belaya (Agidel) and its tributaries: the Ufa and the Dyoma, the Bolshoy Ik, the Sim, the Nugush, the Urshak, the Ashkadar, the Sterlya.

The Republic of Bashkortostan borders on the Republic of Tatarstan, the Republic of Udmurtia, the Perm Territory, and the Sverdlovsk, Chelyabinsk and Orenburg Regions.